Here’s The List Of Triple Crown Misses Before American Pharoah

147th Belmont Stakes 

In case you missed it, American Pharoah made history Saturday, becoming the 12th triple crown winner in history and the first in 37 years after dominating the Belmont Stakes

You don’t have to be an expert to get all jazzed up after watching this.

And if it seems like there’s been a horse to come close to the elusive feat about every other year, you’re not far off.

Here’s the the list of near-misses since Affirmed accomplished the feat in 1978. 

1979 Spectacular Bid 3rd (Coastal)
1981 Pleasant Colony 3rd (Summing)
1987 Alysheba 4th (Bet Twice)
1989 Sunday Silence 2nd (Easy Goer)
1997 Silver Charm 2nd (Touch Gold)
1998 Real Quiet 2nd (Victory Gallop)
1999 Charismatic 3rd (Lemon Drop Kid)
2002 War Emblem 8th (Sarava)
2003 Funny Cide 3rd (Empire Maker)
2004 Smarty Jones 2nd (Birdstone)
2008 Big Brown DNF (Da’Tara)
2012 I’ll Have Another (Did not start)
2014 California Chrome 4th (Tonalist)

Seattle Slew won the triple crown in 1977 and Secretariat did so in 1973.

Josh Helmuth is the editor of CraveOnline Sports.

Photo Credit: Getty