Watch: Nas Unveils J Dilla Collaboration ‘The Sickness’ at SXSW

Legendary rapper Nas couldn’t let the whippersnappers steal all the thunder at SXSW this year, so he used his slot at Friday’s Mass Appeal showcase to unveil his never-before-heard collaboration with the beloved late J Dilla.

Previously unreleased, “Sickness” is a 2001 creation by Dilla, alongside beats by Madlib. Fifteen years later, Nas added his verse, completing the circle.

When introducing the track to a full crowd at SXSW, Nas said that the track “Sickness” would be featured on the hotly anticipated upcoming album The Diary. A press release has subsequently followed, clarifying that the song will not be featured on the album, but will be sent out as an iTunes exclusive track when the album is pre-ordered for its April 15th release. 

Nearly two decades in the making, The Diary is said to showcase Dilla’s musical compositions and vocals, rather than his previously highlit beatmaking abilities. Additional collaborators are said to include Snoop Dogg, Bilal, Kokane, Nottz and Boogie and more, with production from Dilla (of course) as well as Madlib, Pete Rock, Hi-tek, Nottz, House Shoes, Supa Dave West, Bink! and Karriem Riggins.

The Diary tracklist:

01. The Introduction

02. The Anthem feat. Frank & Dank

03. Fight Club feat. Nottz & Boogie

04. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) feat. Kenny Wray

05. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)

06. Trucks

07. Gangsta Boogie feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane

08. Drive Me Wild

09. Give Them What They Want

10. The Creep (The O)

11. The Ex feat. Bilal

12. So Far

13. Fuck The Police

14. The Diary


// ad on openWeb