2015 Screen Music Awards Nominees Announced

The 2015 Screen Music Awards announced its nominees today, with the likes of Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, Jed Kurzel and David Hirschfelder competing alongside many others.

Set to be held at the Melbourne Recital Centre on Thursday November 12, the nominees have a little over a month to chew their nails in anticipation.

This year’s nominees list features a plethora of popular musicians including Cave, Ellis and Kurzel, as well as Josh Abrahams, Georgi Kay, Shane Howard, Archie Roach and Roger Mason. Meanwhile renowned screen composers such David Hirschfelder, Burkhard Dallwitz, Cezary Skubiszewski and Antony Partos are also well represented with Hirschfelder leading in nominations with 4 nods for his work on the feature film The Water Diviner and the television show “Banished”.

Hirschfelder wasn’t the only one with multiple nominations however, with Bryony Marks receiving three nominations, and Roger Mason, Antony Partos, Ash Gibson Greig, and the composing partnerships of Nick Cave and Warren Ellis and Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks all having two nominations to their credit.

It’s hardly just an event for the established though, the list including several first time nominees including Jonathan Bush, Elizabeth Drummond, Hannah Field, Annie Hamilton, Michael Dooley, Aaron Kenny, Keith Moore, Lindsay Jehan, Gerard Fitzgerald, Daniel Sullivan and composer Damien Lane. Lane must be especially happy as he has picked up two nominations on his first tour of the Screen Music Awards.

“Wow, what a wonderful collection of new names amongst the veterans for this year’s nominations. Can’t wait to pat some younger backs for jobs well done down in Melbourne this year,” said AGSC President Guy Gross commenting on the field of nominees.

With the winners to be announced at the event, have a look through the full list of nominees here below.


Feature Film Score of the Year

Michael Lira – Good ‘Ol Boy

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis – Loin des Hommes (Far from Men) – Mushroom Music obo Mute Song

Jed Kurzel – Slow West

David Hirschfelder – The Water Diviner – Diviner Holdings

Best Music for a Documentary

Gerard Fitzgerald, Lindsay Jehan, Adrian Sergovich and Haydn Walker – 35 Letters – Song Zu Publishing

Antony Partos – Sherpa – Sonar Music

Caitlin Yeo – The Great Australian Race Riot

Tim Count and Keith Van Geyzel – The Waler: Australia’s Great Warhorse – ABC Music Publishing

Best Music for a Short Film

Damien Lane – 1919

Aaron Kenny – A Mighty Nice Man

Damien Lane – Emergence

Guy Gross – Flat Daddy

Best Soundtrack Album

Bryony Marks – Felony – Kobalt Music Publishing Australia obo 3AM Music

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis – Loin des Hommes (Far from Men) – Mushroom Music obo Mute Song

David Hirschfelder – The Water Diviner – Diviner Holdings

Cezary Skubiszewski – Women He’s Undressed

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Shane Howard and Archie Roach – A Secret River from The Secret River – Mushroom Music

David Hirschfelder and Jimmy McGovern – Ballymullen Hill from Banished – Native Tongue Music Publishing obo RSJ Films

Elizabeth Drummond, Hannah Field and Annie Hamilton – Flying Giggle Ship from Giggle & Hoot – ABC Music Publishing

Georgi Kay and James Earp – Head Full of Lies from Residue – Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia

Best Music for Children’s Television

Russell Thornton – Bubble Bath Bay

Sean Peter – Giggle and Hoot: The Legend of Pirate Hootbeard – ABC Music Publishing

Michael Dooley – Joseph

Keith Moore – Monster Beach

Best Television Theme

Bryony Marks – ANZAC Girls – Insync Music Publishing

Jonathan Bush – Maximum Choppage

Bryony Marks – Party Tricks – Insync Music Publishing and EMI Music Publishing Australia

Roger Mason – The Code

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial

David Hirschfelder – Banished – Native Tongue Music Publishing obo RSJ Films

Matteo Zingales – Secrets and Lies – Sonar Music

Roger Mason – The Code

Ash Gibson Greig – Who Do You Think You Are?

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

Antony Partos – Redfern Now – Sonar Music

Burkhard Dallwitz – The Secret River

Ash Gibson Greig – The War That Changed Us

Christopher Larkin – Wasteland Panda: Exile

Best Music for an Advertisement

Elliott Wheeler – Aldi – Perfect Aussie Christmas

Nathan Cavaleri – Bundaberg Rum – Men like Us – Song Zu Publishing

Bruce Heald – Domain – Good Move – Noise International

Josh Abrahams and Davide Carbone – Tahiti Tourism

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia

Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks

Daniel Sullivan

Jay Stewart

Neil Sutherland

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas

Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks

Alistair Ford

Chris Harriott

Neil Sutherland