Album Stream: Radiohead Guitarist Jonny Greenwood’s Inherent Vice Soundtrack

Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood has taken on a new film score challenge, this time for a film by beloved director Paul Thomas Anderson

After his contributions to 2007’s There Will Be Blood and 2012’s The Master, Greenwood set his sights on the soundtrack for Anderson’s upcoming adaptation of Inherent Vice. The film, starring Joaquin Phoenix, Benicio Del Toro, Own Wilson and more, chronicles a Los Angeles detective investigating the disappearance of his ex-girlfriend. The OST is out this week via Nonesuch Records, and can be streamed in full below.

Related: Inherent Vice Film Review – Gravitas and Blow

Original compositions from Greenwood are interspersed with selections from Neil Young, Can and more, though the set interestingly includes an unreleased Radiohead song called “Spooks,” which is performed by Greenwood, Joanna Newsom, and members of Supergrass. But if you really want to hear new Radiohead songs, you’ll have to wait for their upcoming new album – or have a listen to two potential inclusions, “Identikit” and “Cut a Hole”. In the meantime, enjoy the Inherent Vice soundtrack below.


Inherent Vice – The Soundtrack tracklist:

01. Jonny Greenwood – “Shasta”

02. Can – “Vitamin C”

03. Jonny Greenwood – “Meeting Crocker Fenway”

04. The Marketts – “Here Comes the Ho-Dads”

05. Jonny Greenwood – “Spooks”

06. Jonny Greenwood – “Shasta Fay”

07. Minnie Riperton – “Les Fleur”

08. Jonny Greenwood – “The Chryskylodon Institute”

09. Kyu Sakamoto – “Sukiyaki”

10. Jonny Greenwood – “Adrian Prussia”

11. Neil Young – “Journey Through the Past”

12. Les Baxter – “Simba”

13. Jonny Greenwood – “Under the Paving-Stones, the Beach!”

14. Jonny Greenwood – “The Golden Fang”

15. Jonny Greenwood – “Amethyst”

16. Jonny Greenwood – “Shasta Fay Hepworth”

17. Chuck Jackson – “Any Day Now”