‘Boyhood’ Wins Best Picture from Los Angeles Film Critics Association


The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) has announced their 2014 awards, and it should come as little surprise that Richard Linklater’s Boyhood only continues to rake in the awards. The coming-of-age drama, shot over the course of 12 years so its stars could age on camera, won Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Editing from the LAFCA, which also took several opportunities to reward worthy films that have not been dominating the awards season conversation… yet.

Tom Hardy won a surprise award for Best Actor for his standout performance in Locke, in which he appears alone in a car throughout the entire film. Agata Kulesza won Best Supporting Actress for her performance in Ida, a period drama about a woman discovering a secret about her family that dates back to the Nazi occupation. With a little luck, the early announcement of these awards could call attention to their performances and give them a leg up throughout the awards season, possibly culminating in Oscar nominations.


Related: 19 Films That Deserve More Oscar Buzz


The LAFCA also clearly has a hard-on for The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson’s comedy starring Ralph Fiennes as the concierge of a posh hotel during wartime (and stolen paintings, fancy cakes, et al). The film won Best Screenplay and Best Production Design, and was the runner up in three other awards as well, losing each time to Boyhood.

Check out the complete list of LAFCA winners below, and keep coming back to CraveOnline for more awards season updates, and our own coverage of the best and worst films of 2014.


Best Picture: Boyhood

Runner Up: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Director: Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Runner Up: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actor: Tom Hardy, Locke

Runner Up: Michael Keaton, Birdman

Best Actress: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Runner Up: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Runner Up: Edward Norton, Birdman

Best Supporting Acrtress: Agata Kulesza, Ida

Runner Up: Rene Russo, Nightcrawler

Best Foreign Film: Ida

Runner Up: Winter Sleep

Best Screenplay: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Runner Up: Alejandro Gonzalez Innaritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr. and Armando Bo, Birdman

Best Animation: The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Runner Up: The LEGO Movie

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film: Citizenfour

Runner Up: Life Itself

Best Music Score: (TIE) Jonny Greenwood, Inherent Vice & Mica Levi, Under the Skin

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman

Runner Up: Dick Pope, Mr. Turner

Best Editing: Sandra Adair, Boyhood

Runner Up: Barney Pilling, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Production Design: Adam Stockhausen, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Runner Up: Ondrej Nekvasil, Snowpiercer

Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award: Walter Reuben, The David Whiting Story

New Generation: Ava DuVernay, Selma

Career Achievement: Gena Rowlands


William Bibbiani is the editor of CraveOnline’s Film Channel and the host of The B-Movies Podcast and The Blue Movies Podcast. Follow him on Twitter at @WilliamBibbiani.


// ad on openWeb