The Water Diviner, The Babadook Share Honours At 4th AACTA Awards

4th AACTA Awards Ceremony

Films The Water Diviner and The Babadook and drama television series The Code have emerged as the big winners from Thursday night’s AACTA Awards in Sydney.

Horror film The Babadook and the Russell Crowe led Water Diviner, a tale of an Australian father who travels to Turkey following the Battle of Gallipoli in search of his three missing sons, shared Best Film honours while ABC series The Code was recognised with Best Drama Series, Best Television Direction plus awards for cast members Ashley Zukerman (Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama) and Chelsie Preston Crayford (Best Supporting Actress in a Television Drama).

Cate Blanchett and Deborah Mailman co-hosted the proceedings as the biggest names in current Australian film and television were joined in attendance by Geoffrey Rush, Alessandro Del Piero and Rose Byrne. Ryan Gosling even made a surprise guest screen appearance, joining Russell Crowe’s presentation for best supporting actress award via live video link from the set of their new movie The Nice Guys.

Check out the major award winners below or the full list of winners at the official AACTA website.

Best Film

The Water Diviner – Andrew Mason, Keith Rodger and Troy Lum
The Babadook – Kristina Ceyton and Kristian Moliere

Best Lead Actor In A Film

David Gulpilil for Charlie’s Country

Best Lead Actress In A Film

Sarah Snook for Predestination

Best Supporting Actor In A Film

Yilmaz Erdogan for The Water Diviner

Best Supporting Actress In A Film

Susan Prior for The Rover

Best Film Director

Jennifer Kent – The Babadook

Best Television Drama

The Code (ABC)

Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama

Ashley Zukerman for The Code

Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama

Marta Dusseldorp for Janet King

Best Television Screenplay

Josh Thomas – Please Like Me (Season 2, Episode 7)

Best Performance In A TV Comedy

Debra Lawrence – Please Like Me

Best Light Entertainment Show

Hamish and Andy’s Gap Year, South America

Best Television Direction

The Code (ABC)

Best Television Comedy

Utopia (ABC)

Best Reality Television Show

The Voice (Shine Australia)

Photo: Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images.