BBC Announces ‘Doctor Who’ Season 8 Episode Titles

In the buildup to “Doctor Who” Season 8, returning “Who” writers Chris Chibnall, Neil Cross and Neil Gaiman were all said to be developing scripts. But in today’s announcement, BBC has revealed that none of these writers have scripts scheduled for the eighth season of “Doctor Who.”

But there are 12 new episodes of “Doctor Who” this season, plus the Christmas special to make it 13. BBC has released the synopsis and episode titles for the first two episodes of the new, which mark Peter Capaldi’s first full length adventure as the Doctor opposite Jenna Coleman’s Clara Oswald.

Episode 1: Deep Breath

Writen by Steven Moffat

Directed by: Ben Wheatley

When the Doctor arrives in Victorian London he finds a dinosaur rampant in the Thames and a spate of deadly spontaneous combustions. Who is the new Doctor and will Clara’s friendship survive as they embark on a terrifying mission into the heart of an alien conspiracy? The Doctor has changed. It’s time you knew him.

Episode 2: Into the Dalek

Writen by Phil Ford & Steven Moffat[

Directed by Ben Wheatley

A Dalek fleet surrounds a lone rebel ship, and only the Doctor can help them now… With the Doctor facing his greatest enemy, he needs Clara by his side. Confronted with a decision that could change the Daleks forever he is forced to examine his conscience. Will he find the answer to the question, “am I a good man?”

Related: Watch The First Full Length Trailer For ‘Doctor Who’ Season 8

For the rest of the episodes, BBC only announced the episode titles and the writers and the directors for each installment.

Episode 3: Robot Of Sherwood

Written by Mark Gatiss

Directed by Paul Murphy

Episode 4: Listen

Written by Steven Moffat

Directed by Douglas Mackinnon

Episode 5: Time Heist

Written by Stephen Thompson and Steven Moffat

Directed by Douglas Mackinnon

Episode 6: The Caretaker

Written by Gareth Roberts and Steven Moffat

Directed by Paul Murphy

Episode 7: Kill The Moon

Written by Peter Harness

Directed by Paul Wilmshurst

Episode 8: Mummy On The Orient Express

Written by Jamie Mathieson

Directed by Paul Wilmshurst

Episode 9: Flatline

Written by Jamie Mathieson

Directed by Douglas Mackinnon

Episode 10: In The Forest Of The Night

Written by Frank Cottrell Boyce

Directed by Sheree Folkson

Episode 11/12 Dark Water/Death In Heaven

Written by Steven Moffat

Directed by Rachel Talalay

Strax (Dan Starkey), Jenny (Catrin Stewart) and Madame Vastra (Neve McIntosh) will appear in eighth season premiere. And in the second episode of the season, Samuel Anderson will make his debut as Danny Pink, Clara’s new boyfriend and a potential companion for the Doctor.

Other guest stars confirmed for this season are Keeley Hawes, Tom Riley, Ben Miller, Hermione Norris, Frank Skinner, Foxes, Christopher Fairbank and Sanjeev Bhaskar

“Doctor Who” Season 8 will premiere this Saturday, August 23 on BBC One and BBC America.


// ad on openWeb