FX Orders Guillermo del Toro’s ‘The Strain’ To Series


Last year, FX gave a greenlight to an adaptation of Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan’s vampire novel trilogy, “The Strain” even though del Toro wasn’t immediately available to direct the pilot.

In an announcement that was widely expected, FX has officially ordered a 13 episode first season of “The Strain” with production scheduled to begin later this month in Toronto. “The Strain” follows Dr. Ephraim Goodweather (Corey Stoll), a CDC team leader who investigates the rampant spread of a vampire virus that threatens to overrun humanity. 
“The Strain” also stars Mia Maestro, Sean Astin, Kevin Durand, Natalie Brown, Jonathan Hyde, Richard Sammel, Robert Maillet, Jack Kesy, Ben Hyland, and Miguel Gomez. However, John Hurt will no longer portray Professor Abraham Setrakian, and the role will be recast.
“Lost” and “Bates Motel” producer Carlton Cuse will executive produce the series. Del Toro directed the pilot episode of “The Strain” and co-wrote it with Hogan. 
In a statement, Cuse said that “Working with visionary filmmaker Guillermo del Toro and the team at FX has been a dream come true for me. Guillermo’s epic, cinematic pilot for The Strain starts a chilling and compelling story that will upend everything you thought you knew about vampires.”
“The Strain books are near and dear to my heart,” added del Toro. And now, Chuck and I have the blessing of a partnership with Carlton and FX that holds great promise. Working with FX has yielded an amazing experience with total creative freedom and support.”
“The Strain” is expected to premiere on FX in July 2014.