Drinking And Droning Is Now Illegal In New Jersey

Group of young people making selfie with drone at beach. Photo: valentinrussanov (Getty).

The great state of New Jersey is a place known for having it’s own view of how the world should operate. It’s the state where a teacher thinks it’s OK to adopted a student so she can have more sex with him. And who can forget Jersey as the place where rainwater literally turns their beaches to shit?

Yeah, the Garden State is a unique spot second only to Florida for weirdness. But like everywhere else, they like to throw back a few beers as a means of having a good time. Only now, they’ll just need to make sure they’re not doing so while piloting a drone.

Drinking And Droning Is Now Illegal In New Jersey

Yes, flying a drone while being under the influence is illegal thanks to legislation signed into law earlier this week. Everyone’s favorite beach-goer Chris Christie signed off on it Monday, his last day in office as governor.

If you find yourself chugging away at your favorite grown-up juice, make sure you carry the same precautions you do when you’re driving. According to the new law, you have to have a blood-alcohol concentration under 0.08 percent. That’s the exact same threshold most states use for their drinking-and-driving laws.

Don’t think for a second that the law is limited to drinking. The bill also outlaws flying a drone while under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic, or habit-producing drug. So smoking weed and flying drones is also banned, ya hippie aviators.

The penalties for drinking and droning are stiffer than the drinks that got you drunk in the first place. If convicted, a violator could face up to six months in jail and pay a $1,000 fine. So if you like flying drones, make sure you’re not getting tanked while doing it in New Jersey. No one there likes a drunk droner.

h/t CNN