Aphex Twin Announces ‘SYRO’ New Album Via Deep Web

It’s exciting enough to hardly believe it’s true, but Aphex Twin – aka iconic electronic artist Richard D. James – has announced via Deep Web that he’ll be releasing a new album called SYRO this year, the wildly anticipated follow-up to 2001’s Drukqs After a big yellowish green blimp appeared over the Oval Space in Hackney, England over the weekend with “2014” illuminated and the Aphex Twin logo fixed inside the zero, the pieces have begun to come together into a discernible picture.

A Monday Tweet from James ended with .onion, a domain tag that is often associated with the TOR proxy browser that offers access to the Deep Web. Within the post, the following screenshot is available, which includes a new-album tracklisting embedded within the code. A regular browser will only provide limited info.

Nearly five years ago, James announced he had six albums in the works, including two “very non-commercial, abstract, modular-synthesis, field recordings” completed back in 2006.

“Another one is Melodies From Mars, which I redid about three years ago,” he said. “There’s one of stuff I won’t go into; a comp of old tracks, which is never really finished and always changing; and then one I’m working on now. There are also loads of tracks which don’t belong anywhere.” 


SYRO tracklist:

1. minipops 67 (source field mix)

2. XMAS_EVET10 (thanaton3 mix)

3. produk 29

4. 4 bit 9d api+e+6

5. 180db_

6. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)

7. fz pseudotimestretch+e+3

8. CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)

9. syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)

10. PAPAT4 (pineal mix)

11. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)

12. aisatsana



// ad on openWeb