CBC’s Mr. D Wins Canadian Screenwriting Award

Mr D

The popular CBC comedy Mr. D has won a Canadian Screenwriting Award.

An episode, written by Andrew De Angelis, won for Best Comedy at the 2015 Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards, which took place this past weekend in Toronto at a gala event.

The Awards were hosted by comedian and actor Ryan Belleville. Winners were chosen from more than 100 scripts in seven different categories.

Other winners included:

Fangbone, Season 1
“The Warbrute of Friendship”
Written by Simon Racioppa & Richard Elliott

Children & Youth
R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour, Season 4
“Mrs. Worthington”
Written by Melody Fox

The Cholesterol Question
Written by Michael McNamara

Movies & Miniseries
Elephant Song
Written by Nicolas Billon

Shorts & Webseries
Out With Dad, Season 3
 “Outed ”
Written by Jason Leaver

TV Comedy
Mr. D, Season 3
“Old School”
Written by Andrew De Angelis

TV Drama
Orphan Black, Season 2
“Ipsa Scientia Potestas Est”
Written by Tony Elliott

Showrunner Award  – Bruce Smith
Sondra Kelly Award – Alison Lea Bingeman
Writers  Block Award – Denis McGrath

Photo: Mr. D/CBC