Australia’s Cricket World Cup Squad Announced


Cricket Australia have today announced the squad that will be competing at the 2015 Cricket World Cup to be held in Australia beginning February 14 at the MCG. 

At a press conference on Sunday morning, Australian selector Rod Marsh fielded questions on the selections made in the 15-man squad with clouded captain Michael Clarke by his side.

There was some contention as to the inclusion of spinner Xavier Doherty over test spinner Nathan Lyon. 

“Xavier is a reliable spin bowler who we know can perform well in the 50-over format,” said Marsh.

“We also have other spin options in Glenn Maxwell , Steve Smith and Michael Clarke if required.”

Michael Clarke has been included in the squad and will lead the side if he is fit to play.

“Our medical staff are pleased with his progress following hamstring surgery in December and he continues to undergo thorough rehabilitation work with a view to being ready to play an important role in the World Cup,” Marsh commented. 

“I’ve enjoyed captaining Australia and still feel that I have a lot to offer this team,” Clarke replied confidently to a question on him handing over the captaincy.

Omissions include Matthew Wade, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon and Cameron White, who is tipped to replace Clarke should he fail to prove his fitness by the second match against Bangladesh on 21st February. 

Australia’s Cricket World Cup squad:

Michael Clarke (c), George Bailey (v), Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Photo: Getty Images


// ad on openWeb