Toronto Film Critics Association Chooses Watermark For Grand Prize

The documentary from Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky, “Watermark,” took home top honours from the Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA), also taking home a nice chunk of change: $100,000.

“Watermark” reunites award-winning documentary filmmaker Baichwal with renowned environmental photographer Edward Burtynsky and follows Burtynsky’s global photographic exploration of one of our greatest resources: water, revealing the extent to which humanity has shaped water and how it has shaped us.

“Canada pioneered the doc genre, and Watermark shows we’re still reinventing it,” said TFCA president Brian D. Johnson (as reported by CBC News). “Burtysky and Baichwal have fused  photography and the moving image to take the documentary literally where it’s never been before. They’ve forged an epic vision that combines mysterious beauty with devastating fact.”

The evening also saw video and e-mail acceptance speeches from many previously announced winners, including Joel and Ethan Coen for the best feature “Inside Llewyn Davis,” best actor Oscar Isaac, and best director Alfonso Cuaron (“Gravity”) (source: The Globe and Mail).

Photo: TIFF