Canadian Comedy Awards Cap Off A Hilarious Weekend

Colin Mochrie

After four days of hilarity in the capital region, Canadian funnymen and women got together for the Canadian Comedy Awards at Ottawa's Centrepointe Theatre, with comedian Colin Mochrie and the hit show "Mr. D" taking home a number of accolades.

Mochrie won for Canadian Comedy Person of the year, while "Mr. D's" Naomi Snieckus won for Best Female Performance in a TV or web series and the project won for Best TV show. "Goon, starring Seann William Scott and Jay Baruchel, who also penned the flick, won Best Feature Film, and Best Breakout Artist went to Stacey McGunnigle.

Mike MacDonald was also honoured by being presented with the Phil Hartman Award, which is given to someone who "helps to better the Canadian comedy community."

This was the first time that the Canadian Comedy Awards were held in Ottawa. Honours were given in 29 categories that covered film, radio, TV and web shows, and standup comedy performances, along with writing, acting and directing.

Photo: WENN