Band of The Month: Everlast Exclusive Acoustic Session – ‘Sad Girl’


Everlast has announced that he’ll be releasing a brand new solo album, The Life Acoustic, via his Martyr Inc record label on August 27. Continuing our Band of The Month series, CraveOnline is spending the month of August bringing you exclusive performances and candid interviews with the man who fronted House of Pain, helped launch La Coka Nostra and has carved his own niche with a barrage of powerful grit-&-rhythm solo albums.

A semi-retrospective, The Life Acoustic will feature reworked and stripped versions of signature Everlast songs and beyond, including “My Medicine,” which originally appeared on Snoop Dogg’s Ego Trippin‘ album in 2008, his swaggering cover of “Children’s Story” by Slick Rick and an acoustic version of the monster House Of Pain anthem, “Jump Around”. Also included is a new take on his own “Stone In My Hand,” a track from 2012’s excellent Love, War And The Ghost Of Whitey Ford album, which has particularly renewed relevance in today’s NSA-deluged world.

Everlast set up shop at Swing House studios in Los Angeles for an exclusive CraveOnstage session, and as August’s featured Band of The Month artist broke off a set of gems armed with only an acoustic guitar and keyboard. Check out the first of the series, “Sad Girl” – only on CraveOnline:

Next week we’ll bring you a full, candid interview with the man they call Everlast, as well as another performance from our CraveOnstage session! Additionally, check out the official track listing for The Life Acoustic below and be sure to pre-order the album now, which will be available on cd and vinyl.

The Life Acoustic tracklist:

1. Sad Girl

2. Black Jesus

3. Today

4. Broken

5. Stone In My Hand

6. Weakness

7. Children’s Story

8. Stay

9. My Medicine

10. Lonely Road

11. Grandma’s Hands

12. Jump Around?


Keep up with Everlast on Facebook, Twitter and his official site.