New Music | John Carpenter To Release Greatest Hits ‘Anthology’

Photo: Jim Dyson (Getty Images)

Over the past couple years, cult movie auteur John Carpenter has found a second career as a musician, recording and touring his well-received Lost Themes catalogue (four albums), which are surreal, trippy, cinematic music scores without the movies to accompany them.

Also: Movie Composers Made for Music Festivals

Now, the horror master is back, not with a new movie, but a new album, Anthology: Movie Themes 1974 – 1998 (out on Oct. 20 via Sacred Bones). 

These new reworkings of classic themes from his filmography (Halloween, Escape From New York, The Thing, etc.) were recorded with his son, Cody Carpenter, and godson, Daniel Davies, who both previously worked on Lost Themes. Listen to a newly recorded version of his In the Mouth of Madness theme below.

That’s not all, the geek goodness. In addition to CD, LP and digital releases, Anthology will be available in several limited-edition deluxe vinyl formats with colored-vinyl seven-inches: “Christine Red,” “The Fog Over Antonio Bay,” “Halloween Orange” and “Dark Star Deep Space.” 

Carpenter will also hit the road with a Los Angeles show on (hell yeah) Halloween!! 

Tickets will go on sale Friday at 10 a.m. (BUY HERE). Check out the full tour schedule below. 

Anthology: Movie Themes 1974 – 1998 Track List

1. “In the Mouth of Madness”

2. “Assault on Precinct 13”

3. “The Fog”

4. “Prince of Darkness”

5. “Santiago (Vampires)”

6. “Escape From New York”

7. “Halloween”

8. “Porkchop Express (Big Trouble in Little China)”

9. “They Live”

10. “The Thing”

11. “Starman”

12. “Dark Star”

13. “Christine”



// ad on openWeb