MLW Brings Back The Famed Opera Cup After 71 Years

It’s been over 70 years since pro wrestling’s famed Opera Cup took place and Major League Wrestling has decided to bring it back. Last won by the late wrestling icon Stu Hart in 1948, his grandson Teddy Hart has brought the classic trophy to MLW and the promotion has decided to celebrate by bringing the tournament back in the mainstream. MLW’s full announcement is below:

NYC to host first Opera Cup in over 70 years

Tickets on sale next Monday August 5 at

NEW YORK — Held annually for nearly 50 years at various turn-of-the-century opera house locations from New York City to Boston, the Professional Wrestling Opera House Cup was a grueling multi-day tournament.

The best of the day competed in the tournament and would often be an entree to more success, including the World Heavyweight Championship of the day. For years the cup has sat in the attic of the Hart Mansion in Calgary until the tragic passing of the last cup recipient, Stu Hart (1948 winner).

Teddy Hart inherited the Opera House Trophy Cup upon the passing of his grandfather. Inspired by the legends whose names are immortalized in plaques on the sides of the cup, Hart has donated the cup to Major League Wrestling to reignite the spirit of the greats who preceded today and tomorrow’s greats.

After a 71 year hiatus, the Opera Cup returns December 5th as MLW hosts the 2019 Opera Cup tournament at Melrose Ballroom in New York City. The event will be a FUSION TV taping for beIN SPORTS.

Tickets go on sale Monday August 5 at

Entries will be revealed later this fall on MLW FUSION and

The Professional Wrestling Opera Cup is dedicated to the great men who have fought valiantly before us to ensure our passion, professional wrestling be cemented and respected in the annals of time.

  • Scheduled to appear on the December 5th card in New York City (but not necessarily in the Opera Cup):
  • World Middleweight Champion Teddy Hart
  • World Heavyweight Champion Jacob Fatu
  • World Tag Team Champions The Dynasty
  • Davey Boy Smith Jr.
  • LA Park
  • National Openweight Champion Alex Hammerstone
  • “Filthy” Tom Lawlor
  • Ross & Marshall Von Erich
  • Low Ki
  • Mance Warner
  • Zenshi
  • Brian Pillman Jr.
  • Hijo de LA Park
  • Spirit Squad
  • Plus MORE!More matches and wrestlers will be announced at

RELATED: MLW’s Alex Hammerstone To Participate Pro Wrestling NOAH’s N-1 Victory Tournament