Full Preview Of Tonight’s NJPW 47th Anniversary Show

new japan pro-wrestling NJPW LOGO

New Japan Pro-Wrestling is celebrating its 47th Anniversary in Tokyo. The show is set to air LIVE on NJPWWorld.com at 5am EST.

The Undercard:

The three tag matches in the undercard of tomorrow’s show are fantastic line-ups on paper. Bullet Club looks to make quick work of Most Violent Players and a trio of young lions in the opening 10-man tag. Nagata & Ishii get to test each other’s durability, ahead of their first round match-up in the New Japan Cup, in a tag match. Dragon Lee is set to return to NJPW to help Taguchi Japan take on Suzuki-gun in the third match. Seeing as El Desperado & Dragon Lee will be sharing a ring, there’s speculation that both men’s greatest rival, Hiromu Takahashi, might return from injury.

The Jr. Heavyweight Matches:

BUSHI & Shingo Takagi are set to defend the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Championship against Roppongi 3K. SHO & YOH have been hounding the Jr. Tag Champs since Wrestle Kingdom, and now the two rivals will finally clash to see who will carry the Jr. Tag division into 2020.

Taiji Ishimori has been studying hard for his upcoming IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Title defense. His opponent, Jushin Thunder Liger, is a legend of NJPW, and the standard bearer for Jr. Heavyweight wrestling. Their match will likely be a ceremonial passing of the torch.

The Anniversary Day Matches:

Hirooki Goto is set to join The Dream Team of Hiroshi Tanahashi & Kazuchika Okada to take on Los Ingobernables de Japon. LIJ’s team is comprised of the IWGP Tag Team Champions, EVIL & SANADA, and the IWGP Intercontinental Heavyweight Champion, Tetsuya Naito, meaning that any win for The Dream Team could have major ramifications for whomever scores the fall.

Finally the main event will see the NEVER Openweight Champion face the IWGP Heavyweight Champion, as Will Ospreay takes on Jay White. Should the Aerial Assassin get the win over Jay White, it would not only put him in contention for the title, but also be a huge boost for the NEVER Title.

March 6th, 5am EST

  • Togi Makabe, Toru Yano, Ayato Yoshida, Shota Umino & Ren Narita vs. Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale, Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, Chase Owens & HIKULEO)
  •  Yuji Nagata & Toa Henare vs. CHAOS (YOSHI-HASHI & Tomohiro Ishii)
  • Taguchi Japan (Satoshi Kojima, Tomoaki Honma, Tiger Mask, Ryusuke Taguchi & Dragon Lee) vs. Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki, Taichi, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, El Desperado & TAKA Michinoku)
  • IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Championship Match: Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI & Shingo Takagi) (c) vs. Roppongi 3K (SHO & YOH)
  • IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship Match: Taiji Ishimori (c) vs. Jushin Thunder Liger
  • Anniversary Day Special 6-Man Tag Team Match: Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kazuchika Okada & Hirooki Goto vs. Los Ingobernables de Japon (EVIL, SANADA & Tetsuya Naito)
  • Anniversary Day Special Singles Match: Jay White vs. Will Ospreay