MTV Finalizes Cast & Director For ‘Scream’ TV Series

Over two years ago, MTV optioned the Scream film series as a potential TV show. Now, the “Scream” pilot is finally heading towards production.

Via Deadline, the primary cast of the “Scream” TV series has been announced. Willa Fitzgerald (“Alpha House”) will play the lead character, Emma Duval, “a classic beauty whose new lifewith the ‘in crowd’ leaves her estranged from childhood best friend.” Amy Forsyth (“Reign”) is playing Emma’s estranged friend, Audrey Jensen, “the daughter of a Lutheran pastor and an artsy loner who aspires to be a filmmaker.”

John Karna (Premature) is also set to portray a close friend of Audrey’s named Noah Foster. His character is described as a “creative computer genius with a vast knowledge of pop culture and the tech world.” Carlson Young (“Key & Peele”) has also been cast as Brooke Maddox, “the charismatic leader of the popular crew,” while Amadeus Serafin set for the role of Kieran Wilcox, “the mysterious new kid in town who has a dark side and a tough exterior that hints at experience beyond his years.”

Related: MTV Greenlights a ‘Scream’ Pilot

Although Wes Craven has previously been reported to direct the “Scream” pilot for MTV, Jamie Travis (For A Good Time Call) is now slated to helm the pilot from a script by Jay Beattie and Dan Dworkin. Craven directed the four Scream feature films and he will remain with the “Scream” TV series as an executive producer alongside Harvey and Bob Weinstein, Marianne Maddalena and Cathy Konrad. Jill Blotevogel (“Harper’s Island”) has also been named as the showrunner for the “Scream” series.

A start date for the “Scream” pilot was not announced in the report.


// ad on openWeb