New Order Confirm They Are Releasing a New Album This Year

New Order have confirmed that they will be releasing a new album this year, their first since 2005’s Waiting For The Siren’s Call.

The band has recorded songs for the as-yet-untitled upcoming LP, titled ‘Plastic’ and ‘Restless’, with them having already debuted the former at their live shows.

Pete Doherty Releases Amy Winehouse Tribute ‘Flags of the Old Regime’

They will be releasing the new album with independent label Mute Records, who they signed with last year. Speaking of the signing, New Order released a statement saying: “New Order are delighted to be signing to Mute. We couldn’t imagine a better place to be than working with Daniel Miller and his team. Mute has a superb roster of artists and a history that complements our own. In many ways joining the label feels like we are coming home, returning to our independent roots.”

New Order consist of the remaining members of Joy Division, following the death of the legendary band’s frontman Ian Curtis, with the addition of keyboardist Gillian Gilbert. The band have had a tumultuous relationship in the past, with them having broken up several times in the past. The current incarnation of the band doesn’t feature their long-term bassist Peter Hook, who left back in 2007 following a series of a fall-outs with his bandmates.

In their lengthy list of credentials, their most notable release was the 1983 classic ‘Blue Monday’, which remains the best-selling 12-inch vinyl single of all time.

Their new LP is slated for an autumn release. Details of a potential promotional tour have yet to be revealed.


// ad on openWeb