New Music | Gorillaz Reveal Their ‘Humanz’ Side

Gorillaz have teased fans for over a year now with talk of a new album, yet outside of a politically-charged single, “Hallelujah Money” released on President Trump’s inauguration and the announcement of their own music festival, we didn’t even have a title, let alone a track list, cover art, a release date, etc. 

That has all changed, as Gorillaz revealed that their first new album since 2010’s Plastic Beach would be called Humanz. There are 14 tracks on the regular edition (release date of April 28), with five more on the deluxe. A Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set will also contain each of the 14 regular edition tracks on its own piece of vinyl, backed by an alternate version.

Also: The 12 Most Anticipated Albums In 2017

As rumored, the guest appearances on Humanz is a rogues gallery of cutting-edge collaborators including Grace Jones, Mavis Staples, Danny Brown, De La Soul, Pusha T, Kelela, and actor Ben Mendelsohn (Rogue One, Bloodline) narrating the album’s interludes. Check out the full track list below. 

Gorillaz co-creators Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett also put out a six-minute film called “Saturnz Barz (Spirit House),” directed by Hewlett, containing the track “Saturnz Barz” feat. Popcaan. The animated, trippy, haunted house short features clips from “Ascension” (feat. Vince Staples), “We Got the Power” (feat. Jehnny Beth of Savages) and “Andromeda” (feat. D.R.A.M.). A 360-degree virtual reality version of the video is also available.

Humanz Track List

1. “Ascension” feat. Vince Staples

2. “Strobelite” feat. Peven Everett

3. “Saturnz Barz” feat. Popcaan

4. “Momentz” feat. De La Soul

5. “Submission” feat. Danny Brown & Kelela

6. “Charger” feat. Grace Jones

7. “Andromeda” feat. D.R.A.M.

8. “Busted and Blue”

9. “Carnival” feat. Anthony Hamilton

10. “Let Me Out” feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T

11. “Sex Murder Party” feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz

12. “She’s My Collar” feat. Kali Uchis

13. “Hallelujah Money” feat. Benjamin Clementine

14. “We Got The Power” feat. Jehnny Beth

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

15 The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz, and RAY BLK

16 Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett

17 Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz, and Imani Vonshà

18 Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon and Kali Uchis

19 Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes