Canadians Lorne Michaels And Frank Gehry To Receive The Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Canadians Lorne Michaels as well as Frank Gehry will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom, Barack Obama announced this past Tuesday – the awards will be given out at the end of the month.

The honour recognizes exceptional meritorious service, and was put into effect in 1945 by President Truman.

Michaels, who is credited with creating and producing the insanely popular Saturday Night Live as well as The Tonight Show and Late Night, is a member of the Order of Canada and he also has a star on Canada’s Walk of Fame. He has won 13 Emmys as well.

And Gehry is a world-renowned architect, and his buildings are regarded as some of the most innovative and forward-thinking structures in the world.

Other 2016 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom include NBA’s Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Michael Jordan, philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates, two-time Oscar winner Robert DeNiro, rock legend Bruce Springsteen, talk show host Ellen DeGeneres, and music icon Diana Ross (The Canadian Press).

Photo: C.Smith/


// ad on openWeb