Who Won the 2017 New Japan Cup Finals?, Big Title Challenge Issued, Full Results From Today’s Event

Nick Paglino

New Japan Cup

Earlier today, Bad Luck Fale and Katsuyori Shibata faced off in the finals of this year’s New Japan Cup tournament. Shibata scored the pin fall win over Fale following a Penalty Kick, giving Shibata his fist New Japan Cup win.

Below are the full results from today’s event featuring the New Japan Cup finals:

-Hirai Kawato vs. Tomoyuki Oka went to time limit draw

-David Finlay, Tiger Mask, & Jushin “Thunder” Liger defeated TAKA Michinoku, Takashi Iizuka, & El Desperado

-TenCozy defeated Katsuya Kitamura & Yuji Nagata

-Gedo, Jado, & Hirooki Goto defeated Taichi, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, & Minoru Suzuki

-Los Ingobernables de Japon defeated Taguchi Japan

-YOSHI-HASHI, Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano, & Tomohiro Ishii defeated Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, Yujiro Takahashi, & Kenny Omega

-Katsuyori Shibata defeated Bad Luck Fale. After the match was over, Shibata called out current IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada, and challenged him to a title match. The match has yet to be officially announced, but typically the winner of the New Japan Cup gets his title shot at Sakura Genesis which takes place next month.

Have a news tip? Attended an event and want to send a live report? Submit it now!
monitoring_string = "851cc24eadecaa7a82287c82808f23d0"