Who Left SummerSlam the WWE Champion? Two Major Heel Turns, Christian/Del Rio, Punk/Lesnar Results

Mike Killam

Randy Orton is leaving SummerSlam as the new WWE Champion. In the main event, Daniel Bryan defeated John Cena with a surprise running knee lift to the face, following more than 20 minutes of action, winning his very first WWE Championship. Triple H then turned heel, nailing Bryan with a Pedigree, allowing Randy Orton to cash in his Money in the Bank briefcase and win the title. 

Triple H and Randy Orton celebrated together to send SummerSlam off the air, mocking Daniel Bryan and holding up the WWE Championship. 

Alberto del Rio managed to retain his world championship, picking up the win over Christian in a great match. 

Following a new "no disqualification" stipulation added to "The Best vs. The Beast" match, Brock Lesnar picked up a major win over CM Punk, sending the Second City Saint crashing into a steel chair with the F5 in what many are calling an early candidate for Match of the Year. 

Check out Wrestlezone's complete and exclusive coverage of WWE SummerSlam. 

Have a news tip? Attended an event and want to send a live report? Submit it now!
monitoring_string = "851cc24eadecaa7a82287c82808f23d0"