WWE To Hold SummerSlam Press Conference In Washington DC

Andy Stevens

WWE issued the following press release this morning:

World Wrestling Entertainment(R) comes to Washington’s MCI Center in support of ‘SummerSlam(R)’ Pay Per View; WWE(R) Chairman Vince McMahon,(TM) Hulk Hogan(TM) and WWE Superstars to host Press Conference

–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Tuesday, August 9, 10:00 AM (crews to arrive by 9:15am) (WWE Superstars to participate in 1-on-1 interviews following press conference)

WHO: WWE Chairman Vince McMahon, Hulk Hogan(TM), WWE Champion John Cena(R), Shawn Michaels(TM), Kurt Angle(R) and RAW General Manager Eric Bischoff(TM) along with World Heavyweight Champion Batista(TM), Randy Orton(TM), John Bradshaw Layfield(TM), Candice Michelle(TM) and Smackdown! General Manager Teddy Long(TM)

WHAT: Press Conference to announce “SummerSlam”, coming to Washington Sunday, August 21

WHERE: MCI Center – The Concourse

WHEN: Tuesday, August 9, 10:00 AM

For the first time ever, this year’s SummerSlam pay-per-view will feature a match-up between the Immortal Hulk Hogan and wrestling Icon Shawn Michaels. This will add to the historical matches of previous SummerSlam line-ups. Also, WWE Champion John Cena is in a match defending his title against bitter rival Chris Jericho(R).

Historical SummerSlam Highlights

— After WrestleMania(R), SummerSlam is the second biggest WWE PPV event of the year.

— The first-ever SummerSlam event took place on August 29, 1988 at Madison Square Garden where fans saw Hulk Hogan and “Macho Man” Randy Savage(TM) beat Ted DiBiase(TM) and Andre the Giant(TM).

— In 1992 SummerSlam went oversees (sic) where fans at Wembley Stadium in London, England saw The Ultimate Warrior(TM) defeat World champion Randy Savage(TM) and hometown favorite Davey Boy Smith(TM) pinned Intercontinental champion Bret Hart to win the title.

— In 1996 Mankind(TM) defeated Undertaker(R) in a boiler room brawl at Gund Arena in Cleveland.

— In 1997 “Stone-Cold” Steve Austin(TM) pinned Owen Hart(TM) for the Intercontinental title and Bret Hart defeated Undertaker for the World title

— In 1999 from the Target Center in Minneapolis, fans saw Mankind defeat Triple H(R) and World champion Steve Austin(TM) in a triple threat match to win the title with Jesse Ventura as a special guest referee.

— In 2002 Brock Lesnar(TM) pinned World Champion The Rock(R) to win the title at Nassau Coliseum.

— In 2004 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Randy Orton defeated RAW Champion Chris Benoit(R) to become the youngest Superstar ever to win the World Heavyweight Championship.

This year, it will be a RAW and SmackDown! exclusive pay-per-view and this historic event will take place at the MCI Center on Sunday, August 21. Ticket Information: Box Office, All Ticketmaster Outlets, www.ticketmaster.com or Charge-by-Phone: (800) 551-SEAT.

Have a news tip? Attended an event and want to send a live report? Submit it now!

Comments are under maintenance

monitoring_string = "851cc24eadecaa7a82287c82808f23d0"