Showtime Renews Penny Dreadful For Third Season

The Art and Making of Penny Dreadful Preview

The 19th Century monsters will remain on Showtime.

Showtime has ordered a third season of Penny Dreadful to premiere in 2016 with nine new episodes, which is one episode less than the current 10 episode second season. Production will begin on Penny Dreadful Season 3 in Dublin, Ireland later this year.

Created by Skyfall screenwriter, John Logan, Penny Dreadful takes place in the 19th Century and brings together characters from several iconic Victorian horror novels into a single tale. Eva Green stars as the troubled medium, Vanessa Ives; with Josh Hartnett as Ethan Chandler; former James Bond, Timothy Dalton as Sir Malcolm Murray; Harry Treadaway as Dr. Frankenstein; Danny Sapani as Sembene; Reeve Carney as the immortal Dorian Gray, and Rory Kinnear as the Creature.

Related: The Stand May Be a Miniseries on Showtime

In a statement, Showtime’s David Nevins said “John Logan’s brilliant writing and this amazingly talented ensemble continue to draw a passionate, global fan base into the meticulously crafted world of Penny Dreadful. Together with our wonderful partners at Sky Atlantic, we’re excited to see what new haunts John and his team have in store for season three.”

Penny Dreadful will wrap up its second season on Sunday, July 5.

Are you excited to hear about the renewal of Penny Dreadful? Share your thoughts in the comment section below!