The Libertines Announce Comeback Album ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’


The Libertines have announced details regarding their upcoming comeback album, the first the British band have released in 11 years.

Titled Anthems For Doomed Youth, the band broke the news on their Facebook page, writing: “Dearest one and all, the day has finally arrived, to announce the unveiling of the new Libertines record – ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’. We do so with the utmost pride and jubilation. She (the record) will be available on the 4th of September.”

Also See: Veteran Icons: Aging Artists Still Making an Impact

They will unveil the first track from the new LP, ‘Gunga Din’, during Annie Mac’s Radio 1 show on the evening of July 2nd. Here’s the album’s artwork:


I’m not quite sure how much authority 36-year-old Pete Doherty and 37-year-old Carl Barat have when it comes to writing anthems for the youth of England, but I guess we’ll have to cross that bridge when we come to it. The band have certainly proven that they’ve still got a dedicated legion of fans thanks to their appearances at festivals over the past two years, including their impromptu set at Glastonbury, so we’ll have to see whether their new LP can possibly live up to the hype after being off the radar for over a decade.

The confirmed Anthems For Doomed Youth track list is as follows: 

  1. ‘Barbarians’
  2. ‘Gunga Din’
  3. ‘Fame and Fortune’
  4. ‘Anthem for Doomed Youth’
  5. ‘Heart of the Matter’
  6. ‘Belly of the Beast’
  7. ‘Iceman’
  8. ‘You’re My Waterloo’
  9. ‘Fury of Chonburi’
  10. ‘The Milkman’s Horse’
  11. ‘Glasgow Coma Scale Blues’
  12. ‘Dead for Love’
  13. ‘Love on the Dole’ [Bonus]
  14. ‘Bucket Shop’ [Bonus]
  15. ‘Lust of the Libertines’ [Bonus]
  16. ‘7 Deadly Sins’ [Bonus]