Listen: David Bowie’s ‘Love Is Lost’ Given New Life by James Murphy


November 5th will see the re-release of David Bowie’s new album, The Next Day, in an expanded 3-disc format. In addition to five previously unreleased songs, LCD Soundsystem alum James Murphy lends his talents to a 10-minute remix overhaul of “Love Is Lost”. And damned if we don't hear some awesome nods to another Bowie classic, "Ashes to Ashes," in there.

"It's the darkest hour, you're 22, the voice of youth, the hour of dread," sings Bowie as handclaps and analog synths drive the track around gentle piano chords. The track is subtly danceable, like the sunshine comedown of a Daft Punk freakout.

Listen to the track below.


The Next Day Collectors Edition Tracklist:

01. Atomica *

02. Love is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy) *

03. Plan

04. The Informer *

05. Like a Rocket Man *

06. Born in a UFO *

07. I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix) *

08. I’ll Take You There

09. God Bless the Girl *

10. So She

* = previously unreleased