Cypress Hill & Rusko Confirm Release Date For Collaboration EP

Hip-hop legends Cypress Hill and Dubstep DJ/Producer Rusko have announced the release date for their highly anticipated collaborative effort Cypress x Rusko, to be released by V2 / Cooperative Music digitally June 5th and physically July 17th. 

Featuring the powerful signature SoCal sound of Cypress Hill alongside Rusko's unmistakable beats, the 5-track EP shows the full capabilities of two music pioneers combining forces to create yet another raw and unfiltered sound.  The video for "Lez Go" was released Thursday via their "Tweet to Fill The Bong" contest, in which Cypress Hill and Rusko let the fans dictate the release date by spreading the word on Twitter.

"Lez Go" features performance footage from their 2012 SmokeOut performance, which included special guest Travis Barker on the drums. Fans can watch the video below:

As you'd expect from chameleonic musicians, each song on the album showcases a different musical side to the collaborators. "Lez Go" marries the ominous with the atmospheric, as Cypress' menacing vocals somehow sound angelic over Rusko's harmonious, arpeggiated synths. The up-tempo, high-energy vibe of "Roll It, Light It" and "Stay Medicated" are club anthems, while "Can't Keep Me Down" sees Damian Marley bring a dancehall feel over a slicing, metallic beat. Finally, there's "Shots Go Off," the grimiest track on the EP that replaces drums with gunshots and recalls classic Cypress tracks "Lick a Shot" and "Cock the Hammer."

Dig in deeper: