Our Favorite Female Stand-Ups Are No Joke

Photo: Christopher Polk/Getty Images

In the world of stand-up comedians, women are no slouch. They may be fewer and far between than men, but they’re there, and their posture is usually better. All this to say: Our favorite female stand-ups are no joke, whether you think they’re sexy or not.

Maybe you’ve held onto the classic comedian ladies like Wanda Sykes and Ellen, but if you’re in deep with the comedy scene of today, you know there’s plenty more lady laughs to be had. While most of these women are based in Los Angeles and can be seen locally on the reg, from HBO heavy hitter Whitney Cummings to up-and-comers killing it, like Kate Quigley, we thought it best to drop you some Instagram posts that best capture the funniest females in stand-up today. Our favorite? The last post, because Chelsea Handler is an all-time love affair of ours (and we expect you to read this in its entirety).

Check out our top picks for the best and brightest in stand-up comedy from the lovely ladies of planet Earth (as far as we know), including with Iliza Shlesinger, Ali Wong and more. They’re putting the “estrogen” in “comedy.” Wait, that doesn’t work. But you get it.

Whitney Cummings

A post shared by Whitney Cummings (@whitneycummings) on

Whitney Cummings has three stand-up specials, her most recent, I’m Your Girlfriend, premiering on HBO.

Sarah Silverman

A post shared by @sarahkatesilverman on

Sarah Silverman has a new Netflix special, A Speck of Dust, now available for streaming.

Iliza Shlesinger

A post shared by ilizas (@ilizas) on

Iliza is in love with her dog. She’s engaged (to a man, not the dog) and has three Netflix specials available for streaming. Her new book, Girl Logic, is a collection of essays on how to be a confident woman (who may or may not be obsessed with her dog).

Nikki Glaser

A post shared by nikkiglaser (@nikkiglaser) on

Nikki has her own podcast, recently hosted a Comedy Central sex talk show called Not Safe With Nikki Glaser and was part of a comedian-based documentary, Poop Talk.

Natasha Leggero

A post shared by Natasha Leggero (@natashaleggero) on

Natasha recently had her first child, which is great because she hated being pregnant.

Ali Wong

A post shared by Ali Wong (@aliwong) on

Ali Wong did a stand-up special pregnant. Now she has two kids, and she loves posting about how bad of a mom she is (we know that’s not true!).

Kate Quigley

A post shared by Kate Quigley (@kateqfunny) on

Kate hosted the AVN Awards for adult films. There were lots of dick jokes and Trump jokes, which is great because they’re one and the same. Also, she seems to know a lot about both, which is great that we have someone to learn from. She stars in MTV2’s ADD TV.

Jen Kirkman

A post shared by Jen Kirkman (@jenkirkman) on

Jen has two Netflix specials, the most recent, Just Keep Livin’? out in late 2017.

Tiffany Haddish

A post shared by Tiffany Haddish (@tiffanyhaddish) on

Tiffany is hot in the news right now as the person who allegedly saw the person who bit Beyonce. More on this breaking event from us soon…

Chelsea Handler

A post shared by Chelsea Handler (@chelseahandler) on

The former E! host of Chelsea Lately is kind of the best. She has her own stand-up specials like Netflix’s Uganda Be Kidding Me, her own book Are You There, Vodka? and she’s just about the dirtiest 40-something we know. After her Netflix show Chelsea recently ended its two-year run, she quickly signed a new deal with NBCUniversal to create multiple projects moving forward.