New Music | Jamiroquai Bring Future Funk Back With “Automaton”

Photo: VCG (Getty Images)

It’s virtual insanity to think that Jamiroquai haven’t put out new music in seven long years, but that ended this week with the release of “Automaton”, the title track off the futuristic funk group’s upcoming album (March 31st).

Also: Breaking News | Have We Been Daft Punk’d Again?

The London-based band released a sci-fi music video with the track, featuring Jamiroquai frontman, Jay Kay, sporting a robotic headpiece, wandering a post-apocalyptic London after a nuclear attack — think Wall-E meets Michael Jackson.

Jamiroquai has been doing the retro-disco-80s-electronic thing even before Daft Punk, so it’s no wonder that this “burner” sounds like a B-side to the French duo’s Random Access Memories, the difference is that Jay Kay, when motivated can sing (crank up the chorus) and dance with the best of them.

Here’s what Jay Kay had to say about the song in a statement, “The inspiration for Automaton is in recognition of the rise of artificial intelligence and technology in our world today and how we as humans are beginning to forget the more pleasant, simple and eloquent things in life and in our environment including our relationship with one another as human beings.”

Jamiroquai also announced a world tour earlier. Go HERE for dates and check out the Automaton track listing below.

Automaton Track List

1. “Shake It On”

2. “Automaton”

3. “Cloud 9”

4. “Superfresh”

5. “Hot Property”

6. “Something About You”

7. “Summer Girl”

8. “Nights Out In The Jungle”

9. “Dr Buzz”

10. “We Can Do It”

11. “Vitamin”

12. “Carla”